Indie Bands News

Singer Songwriter Vanessa Peters Releases New Album, ‘The Burn The Truth The Lies’


Acclaimed singer/songwriter takes her craft in a new direction with gutsy rock/pop vibe

DALLAS, TX- Texas singer/songwriter Vanessa Peters announced the release date of her new album, “The Burn The Truth The Lies.” The record is her first album of original material in three years and will be released world­wide on July 17, 2012.

Produced by Rip Rowan (Old ‘97s, Rhett Miller), the album was recorded at the legendary Texas Treefort Studios in Austin by Jim Vollentine (Spoon, Patty Griffin). The album features terrific performances by some of Texas’s finest musicians: John Dufilho (Apples in Stereo), Jason Garner (Polyphonic Spree), Grammy award­winning guitarist Joe Reyes (Buttercup), and producer Rip Rowan on keys.

“I turned everybody loose,” Peters said. “These guys are amazingly creative; there was no reason to ask them to play a song a certain way. We just tackled them one by one, and we usually found the right arrangement within a few takes. It was actually a pretty fluid process. Forcing the band to create spontaneously gave the album the edge I was looking for. I love how it all came together.”

Since 2002, Peters has played over 1000 shows in 11 countries and released seven albums. But in 2009, her band broke up, and she moved back to Texas. “I wasn’t sure that I was going to continue making music,” she said. “I was worn out emotionally and physically.”

But after releasing last year’s “The Christmas We Hoped For,” which found its way onto many Top 10 Holiday lists, she began to contemplate returning to the studio. However, the split with her band had been painful, and she wasn’t sure about making another record. “I was excited, but very uncertain. I knew if I didn’t have outside motivation, I might chicken out.”

Enter Kickstarter. Vanessa has financed all of her albums using fan­funding, but Kickstarter was different. “It was such a public platform. I was nervous about taking what used to be a very small, private exchange between me and my fans and broadcasting it for the world to see. But I knew doing so would push me to get into the studio.” And it worked; she met her goal in 20 days and got to work right away.

This is a stark, honest album ­ best described as both dark and sweet. “I’ve been told this is the most open, truthful collection of songs I’ve written, and it’s true; I wasn’t trying to cloak my lyrics in shades of gray. I was trying to tell stories in black and white…. which is, of course, a fool’s errand. Emotionally, it was a tough album for me to make.” Yet for all of the struggle to write and record the album, the listener will discover that it’s an undeniably catchy pop record, driven by clever melodies and whip smart lyrics.

Vanessa and the band will celebrate the album’s release with a tour in Italy in July and subsequent touring across the US this fall.

http://www.vanessapeters.com
http://www.facebook.com/vanessapeters.music

Source- Beatwire.com

Discussion

Comments are closed.