Christian Music Reviews

JJ Heller – ‘When I’m With You’


JJ Heller
‘When I’m With You’
Christian/ Singer Songwriter/ Folk
http://www.JJHeller.com
By C.W. Ross

‘When I’m With You’ is the fourth release from Christian artist JJ Heller. The songs that make up her new release deal with relationships, both earthly (person-to-person) and spiritual (person-to-God).

Stylistically Heller’s music falls into a singer songwriter meets acoustic folk rock style with her beautifully sounding vocals driving the music. The songs alternate between melodic with flowing strings to mid-tempo with an almost pop edge to them at times.

The lead single from the release, “What Love Really Means”, Heller says is, “a very special song to me. It’s actually a new version of a song that I wrote 5 years ago called “Love Me,” she explains why, “Out of all the songs I’ve written, this song came to me the fastest, and connects with my listeners on the deepest levels. I normally labor over my songs, but I know it’s a song that God wanted me to share with others because of the way that it just fell onto the page.”

I also found the lyrics of the song, “What Love Really Means”, to be very touching and filled with hope, that while people might put conditions on their love for us that God loves us and accepts us just as we are.

Another track that tugs at the heart strings is, “Olivianna”, that tells the story of the death of a child and the need to appreciate every moment that we’re given in this life.

One thing that I like to do when reviewing a release is as I’m listening to it if a song really strikes my fancy I’ll put an asterisk on my writing paper by its title. Usually I’ll have 1 or 2 songs marked but on this release I marked every song because as they played the high quality of music just kept flowing out of my stereo’s speakers.

JJ Heller’s music has quickly garnered attention from both the secular and Christian markets and with the fine musical effort that she’s put forth on her latest release ‘When I’m With You’ that rapid growth should continue strong.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

