Christian Music Reviews

Rebecca St. James – ‘I Will Praise You’


Rebecca St. James
‘I Will Praise You’
Worship
http://rsjames.com
By C.W. Ross

Like a recent commercial for Geico car insurance, if you haven’t heard of Christian artist Rebecca St. James before now you must have been living under a rock since the 1990’s.

This Australian import, who now resides in Tennessee, is a Grammy & Dove Award winning artist, a successful author, along with being an actress and spokesperson for causes she strongly believes in like, sexual abstinence, pro-life and the child sponsorship ministry, Compassion International.

Rebecca also broke many a young single men’s hearts earlier this year when she announced her engagement to Jacob Fink.

Rebecca St. James latest release, ‘I Will Praise You’ is her ninth studio album and offers up 10 tracks of worship filled music. It’s found on her new label home, Beach Street / Reunion Records. Rebecca says that, “(‘I Will Praise You’) is her most personal recording to date.”

The first thing that stuck out to me as I listened to the music found on, ‘I Will Praise You’ is that it was much softer then I was expecting. Instead of more rock edged songs you’ll find a mix of pop flavored tracks along with more melodic ones and a noticeable electronic element that’s also found in many of the songs.

‘I Will Praise You’ starts out with one of those pop flavored songs, the title track, “I Will Praise You” which starts off slow but builds up tempo as it moves along. This is one of the several tracks found on the album that were written by Rebecca.

Other tracks that I would like to talk about include track-2, Rebecca’s cover of the Matt Redman song, “You Never Let Go.” While Rebecca does a nice job on the song I prefer the original version. Also the first single from the album, “Shine Your Glory Down”, is a well done up tempo pop flavored track that deals with God’s greatness.

Out of the several more melodic / softer tracks, found on ‘I Will Praise You’ I enjoyed, “You Still Amaze Me”, “When The Stars Burn Down (Blessing and Honor)”, and the piano lead closing track, “You Make Everything Beautiful,” that deals with the redemptive power of God.

Rebecca St. James new worship album, ‘I Will Praise You’ is one those few special releases that have the ability to reach many different generations with the blend of worship music that’s found on it.

About CW Ross

I'm a Christian who likes writing about Indie and Christian music, college softball and airguns.

Discussion

One thought on “Rebecca St. James – ‘I Will Praise You’

  1. This a such a great album. Rebecca St. James is a blessing to the kingdom of God. She is an anointed artist and I’m excited to see how God will use her

    Posted by Kennard Valentine | April 21, 2011, 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Twitter



Follow CW's Place on WordPress.com
