Indie Bands News

Chicago’s Swerp Records Announces Launch Lineup, Record Releases May 22nd

(Chicago, IL) Swerp Records announced that their official launch lineup and collective release date of May 22nd, in an advance video at Much like a indie-rock Odd Future, the artists of Swerp Records share members, musical virtuosity, collaborative shows, and a warped sense of humor. The label, featuring a collection of seven of Chicago’s finest underground artists, represents the first formal releases from any of these groups.

“I had never heard of any of these bands before but after listening to their soundcloud sampler reel I knew there was something special going on here. There is an unusually high percentage of awesomeness, and I found that the ambition and energy apparent […] extended to these other bands.” said Farsheed Hamidi-Toosi of Soapbox Music ( “What really grabbed me was the raw energy and musical exploration I was hearing.”

Swerp Records comes from the little-known Chicago south suburban musical community, a lost branch of the city’s musical family tree. For the last six years, the bands of the south suburban scene built a rich history of exceptional musicianship and infamous shows, yet functioned entirely without promotion or representation. Loosely guided by multi-instrumentalist Nnamdi Ogbonnaya (The Para-Medics, Water House, Nervous Passenger, Sooper Secret Side Project) and drummer Brendan Smyth (Water House, Freudian Slip, Nervous Passenger), Swerp’s launch includes three all-new albums, two remastered albums, and new forthcoming releases.

Swerp’s launch releases consist of:

THE PARA-MEDICS – PATSY CLINE GUN SQUID (new) – dizzying instrumental math-prog trio
WATER HOUSE – ROSIE GUADALUPE WILMA MARY ANN (new) – self-described “miasma rock”, with jazz, rock, metal, and folk influences
FREUDIAN SLIP – (TWO)BE TIED (new) – intense four-piece Midwest-style math rock
RATBOYS – RATBOY (remastered) – clever, female-fronted experimental-folk duet
NERVOUS PASSENGER – NERVOUS PASSENGER EP (remastered) – balls-to-the-wall suburban punk
JT ROYSTER – HANGIN’ BY THE SOUNDS (forthcoming) – warm, rural, Michigan-influenced folk
NNAMDI’S SOOPER DOOPER SECRET SIDE PROJECT – BOOTY SLICES // ROTISSABOOTY – incredibly catchy, impossibly warped hip-hop, featuring contributions from every Swerp artist and beyond

The three new albums were recorded in Chicago’s historic Pieholden Suite Sound, a studio founded in part by the late Jay Bennett of Wilco. The albums were engineered by Che Arthur (Atombompocketknife, Che Arthur Trio, Past/Future Records) and produced by Jonathan Mondragon (The Island of Misfit Toys). Swerp also launches with the back catalogues of seven additional classic South Suburban bands for streaming and download.

Swerp Records is a Chicago-based record label, devoted to badass music for awesome people. With a history going back to 2006, the artists on Swerp Records all have roots in the rich history of our Chicago South Suburban music scene – featuring The Para-Medics, Water House, Freudian Slip, Ratboys, Nervous Passenger, jt royster, Nnamdi’s Sooper-Dooper Secret Side Project, and more! For more info, visit us online at



About CW Ross

I'm a Christian who likes writing about Indie and Christian music, college softball and airguns.


Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Twitter

Follow CW's Place on
%d bloggers like this: